In This Section

Tianna Cervantez
Board Certification 
Tianna Cervantez is a life-long resident of Galesburg. She is an alumna of Galesburg High School, Carl Sandburg College, and Knox College. She earned her AM from The University of Chicago's School of Social Service Administration in 2008. She is employed at Knox College as the Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion/Director of Intercultural Life and is a part-time instructor for the Anthropology-Sociology department. She is the Vice Chair of the IASB Western Division, has been a member of the Knox County Child Advocacy Center's Advisory Board since 2010 and is a volunteer assistant coach for the GHS Gadets. Her son, Tavian, is a GHS graduate and currently a student at Augustana College. She feels that understanding the changes occurring within the demographic, economic and educational landscapes locally and nationally is imperative to the district's mission of educating all of its students. 
Member Scherpe 
Rod Scherpe
Board Vice-President 
Board Certification 

Description Coming Soon  



Maury Lyon
Board Secretary
Board Certification             
Maury Lyon moved to Galesburg in 1985 to work for District 205. He worked in various administrative positions for 25 years. His previous work in schools stretched for third grade in Chicago to fifth grade in Hotevilla, Az. Maury and his wife, Susan's, four grown children all attended the Galesburg public schools.
Academically, he has a BA from Carleton College, an MA from Northern Arizona University before receiving his doctorate in 1995 from the University of Illinois.
He is a strong advocate for public education as a necessary requirement for American democracy. He wants all children to be challenged by our schools and for parents to be engaged in a substantive manner in the process. 

Nicholas Walters
Board Member
Board Certification
Rodney Phelps
Board Member 
Board Certification 

Courtney Rodriguez   
Board Member 
Board Certification 

  Galesburg Township     Elected    Term Ends   
  Open Seat        April 2021 
  Rod Scherpe   April 2017      April 2021  
  Tianna Cervantez     April 2015     April 2023  
  Courtney Rodriguez    April 2019     April 2023  
  Remaining Townships     Elected     Term Ends  
  Maury Lyon   April 2017    April 2021  
  Rodney Phelps   April 2019     April 2023  
  Nicholas Walters   April 2019   April 2021
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.