Gale Scholars Class of 2024

The Gale Scholars Program is proud to announce the induction of its newest class, the Class of 2024. The 10 students went through a rigorous two month selection process (application/essay, grade/citizenship/attendance, references and interviews). 

They were chosen from an original pool of 36 applicants. Their cumulative GPA is
a sparkling 3.60. This year's final selection step was held via video technology because of the COVID-19 pandemic.  22 students were interviewed over a two day period, utilizing each student's CUSD #205 Chromebooks. This was a first in the program's 24-year history.
The annual Induction Ceremony was scheduled to take place at Sandburg
College this spring, but will be moved to the fall as a result of the present social distancing regulations.

The Gale Scholars Program is a partnership among Galesburg School CUSD #205, Carl Sandburg College and Knox College. It was founded in 1996 for the purpose of giving deserving Galesburg students an opportunity at a tuition free scholarship at Sandburg College and Knox College.  These students must meet demanding academic standards, participate in extracurricular activities, perform community service, take a challenging academic load and enroll in four years of summer school.  Eligibility for selection to the program is open to any Galesburg 8th grade junior high student who is a potential first
generation college graduate.  

The following students will be inducted into the Gale Scholars Program this academic year:

1. Lilliana Burns
2. Yannick Deh
3. Trinity Greer
4. Luis Hernandez
5. Tristan Hunt
6. Mattisson Jackson
7. Nicolas Makwala
8. Kenny Mensah
9. Skylar Wenstrom
10. Sydney Zesch